Main Content

Bainbridge Township

Auburn and Bainbridge Townships are located in southwestern Geauga County and are served by the Kenston Schools. The area is known for its sparse suburban feel with its many green spaces and parks.

Bainbridge Township abuts Chagrin Falls, Solon, Aurora and South Russell and was named after Commodore William Bainbridge, a naval hero of the War of 1812 who also commanded the USS Constitution. It has a population of approximately 71,000. Residents have easy access to Route 422 and a 25-commute to downtown Cleveland. Bainbridge Township was established in 1817, and its first housing subdivision Lake Lucerne started as a summer-home colony. According to, its median home value is $289,300 and median household income is $114,221.

Auburn Township is just east of Bainbridge and abuts Newbury and Mantua. Its 6000 residents enjoy its rural feel. The township’s website says it “embraces true country style living but offers the perfect balance of residential, commercial, and industrial growth.” According to the 2010 census, Auburn Township has the highest rate of growth of all 16 Geauga County townships. It was settled in 1815 and as recently as 1986 was primarily gravel roads. There is no city water in Auburn—homes have wells and most have septic systems for sewage disposal. The median home value is $295,000 and median household income is $115,304.

The Kenston School District has an A-rating by the Ohio Department of Education. It serves 2634 children at its elementary, intermediate, middle and high schools. More information is available at Kenston Community Education provides execellent recreational and enrichment opportunities for the residents of Bainbridge and Auburn Townships. Visit to learn more.

Sorry we are experiencing system issues. Please try again.

Get in Touch